Printer-Friendly Version

CTools Logo

Permissions and Roles


Includes

Description
Roles
Changing a user's role
Changing permissions for a particular tool



Description

When you create a course or project website, you choose which tools (e.g., forums, schedule, resources, etc.) you want the site to have. For each of these tools, you can set permissions that allow or prevent users from seeing or performing certain tasks, depending on a user's "role." The roles are described below.

In CTools, the various roles are given default permissions. You can add or remove permissions as needed using the permissions page in each of the tools. For example, if you want a participant to be able to read announcements, you can adjust the permissions so he or she can.

For folders in the Resources area, default permissions cannot be removed. For example if you have permissions for the Resources tool set so that students can make new files, that same permission will apply to all subfolders and cannot be changed for the subfolders.

"Permissions" is not a button in the menubar -- it is accessed by clicking a link that appears along the top of the main CTools window when you open a tool in a project or course site. When you first open the permissions page for a tool in a site, you will see the default settings.



Roles

Here are the roles that are available in CTools:

Affiliate -- This role is for an administrative or support person who may access the site to help with configuring it or setting it up or loading resources.

Assistant -- Assistants have permissions much like Instructors, but they cannot delete assignments, discussions, archived emails, or create a site email alias. Assistants can modify the site and see the site when it is unpublished. A GSI might be given the Assistant role.

Candidate -- This role is only used in a special version of Sakai called Grad Tools, which keeps track of progress on dissertations. A doctoral candidate gets this role in his or her Grad Tools site.

Instructor -- The instructor role is for those other than the site owner who might help conduct the class or project. The Instructor role can create, delete, and read anything in the site. Instructors have the same permissions as the Maintain role (see below) except they cannot delete the site.

Observer -- This is a role for a participant who should not be adding content or participating actively in the site, but who needs access to materials in the site. An observer can only see the site, but cannot make any changes, additions, or posts. An Observer does not see the unpublished site.

Owner -- This is a role on course sites for the person who created and controls the site. The owner can do nearly anything in the site, including deleting the site.

Student -- Students are automatically granted student permissions in course sites when they register for a course. The student role allows posting of discussion replies and chat messages, and managing or uploading files in a student's dropbox. Elsewhere in the site, a student can read content but they cannot create Resources, Discussion Categories, Announcements, or Schedule items.

Organizer -- This is a role on project sites which has the same permissions as the instructor role.

Member -- This is a role on project sites. Members can read, revise, delete and add their own content to a site.



Are you finding what you're looking for? Please send feedback about this online help guide to ctools-doc-comments@umich.edu Thanks! (For questions about using CTools, send email to ctools-support@umich.edu)



Changing a user's role

The instructor and student roles are granted to users automatically when an official course site is created. To change a person's role -- either a student, or someone else new to the site -- follow the steps below. Note that it is also possible to do this by using the Site Info tool in the menubar while you are in the course or project site.

1... Open your workspace.


2... Click Worksite Setup.


3... Check the box next to the site in which you want to specify roles.


4... Click Revise.


5... You will see a list of the site's participants and their roles.


6... To change a participant's role, pull down the pop-up menu to the right of the participant's name and choose a new role.


7... When you have finished changing one or more participants' roles, click Update.

 



Changing permissions for a particular tool

Note that at this time it is not possible to set permissions for one particular item that was created using a tool. For example, you cannot set permissions for each announcement individually, but you can for all announcements by setting permissions for the Announcement Tool.

In Resources, you can set permissions for all resources, and you can also set permissions for folders of resources. See Resources, for more information about this.

In CTools, the various roles are given default permissions. You can ! add or remove permissions as needed using the permissions page in e ach of the various tools. For example, if a participant is not allowed to read announcements, you can add that permission so he or she can.

1... You must first have created the course or project site.


2... Open the site by clicking its tab.


3... Click on the tool in the menubar for which you want to set permissions.


4... Click the Permissions... button along the top of the main window.


Important Note: You must completely close out of the permissions feature before you can set permissions in another tool. You can close out of the permissions feature by clicking Save or Cancel .


5... Check or uncheck the boxes depending on how you would like to grant the permissions.


Each tool has a different set of available access levels. Here is the complete set of permissions. Examples are given using the Announcement tool.

new - can create a new announcement
read - can read announcements
revise.any - can revise any announcement after it has been posted
revise.own - can revise only the user's own announcement after it has been posted
delete.any - can delete any announcement after it has been posted
delete.own - can delete only the user's own announcement after it has been posted
read.drafts - can see a draft of an announcement, for example, if an instructor is the only one who can create a new announcement, he or she is not likely to want the students to read it while it is in draft form before it is posted, but may want a co-instructor to be able to see it.

Note that if you are not using Grad Tools, you will not have any users in the Candidate Role.

6... Click Save or Cancel . Remember that before you can set permissions for another t ool, you must click Save or Cancel here.



Are you finding what you're looking for? Please send feedback about this online help guide to ctools-doc-comments@umich.edu Thanks! (For questions about using CTools, send email to ctools-support@umich.edu)